A Call to DIE- part 2

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”~Philippians 1:21

“An actor struggles to die onstage, but a puppet has to struggle to live. And in a way that’s a metaphor for life.” — Handspring Puppet Company

When we “act” or play the part that people are needing from us so we can be accepted, is like “struggling to die while pretending to live.” I can totally relate with “struggling to die while pretending to live…”  This paradoxical juxtaposition takes a lot of energy to perform and is impossible to complete. This act of placing two or more seemingly contradictory things side by side is completely insane!  Yet, this happens quite often in the Christian life. The dichotomy of the Spirit and the flesh is raging away everyday for this preacher.

In addition, our being crucified with Christ and living by faith at the same time is absolutely impossible in our own strength. Dying to our “self life” is impossible without the power and revelation of the Holy Spirit as guide, comforter and teacher. However, faith is the key to opening the door to the  “Call to DIE.”  I believe the Lord is leading me into a season of death to self. As I typed the last sentence out, I shuttered knowing that it is a true statement inside my spirit.

However, there is also great joy in my heart because I  know that it is the leading of the Holy Spirit- and with His leading to “DIE” comes a season of bearing fruit or fruitfulness after the soil of my heart has been prepared to receive the seed. I do not think this is a formula or check list, but learning to be lead by the Spirit of God. How do you “DIE to self….?” Follow the leading and initial promptings of the Holy Spirit.

God lead Abraham to the place of sacrifice or death of his son then replaced the death of Isaac with the promise of God to multiply Abraham’s seed through the sacrifice God had provided. I believe Abraham was finally dead to making things work his way and had entrusted himself to God to fulfill the promise.

I believe that God’s provision in Jesus was enough- Jesus+Nothing else. The sacrifice that was provided has enabled us to move past our nature to sin into a place of promise and provision. Because it is God’s nature to cause us to “overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us.”~Romans 8:37

Leave a Reply

