A Call to DIE

“I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.” John 12:24

Hello Internet-

I am reading a new book that is quite good and challenging as well.  I love new perspectives as I re-examine my life and heart. Motives surely dictate some of our tastes and preferences however, I find that motives are the driving force behind my choices in life. Jesus plus nothing equals everything is quite a good read and highly recommend it to anyone! I am seeking a deeper understanding of why some painful things happen to us in life and the purpose of those difficulties as well. I came upon this statement and it totally just blew me away-

“…because Jesus was strong for me, I was free to be weak; because Jesus was extraordinary, I was free to be ordinary; because Jesus succeeded for me, I was free to fail…”~Tullian Tchividjian

Some would argue that it sounds too complacent, not agressive enough, too passive to be of worth. It sounds like trusting God to do what He said he would do for me and you could be too easy?!  The more I read, the more I am compelled that it is truly on point with the heart of God. The question I have is this, “did God call me to a life of striving against my sinful nature?” It seems so far away from John 10:10- “I have come that you may have life and life more abundantly.”

Abundant life- fruitfulness, peace etc.  Am I truly experiencing abundant life right now? And if I am not- why? Hmmm, I think I place some of my creature comforts above sacrificing it all. I think a call to DIE is un-inviting and sounds terribly painful. Yet, for us to be fruitful we must DIE… DIE to all of the idols in our life- things that take over our heart, time and passions. A call to DIE… Here is the ironic part- we can not DIE without help. Without the power to DIE to these things we are just faking it, acting and conforming to please people, maybe to gain acceptance in our world of pain… A call to DIE sounds very unpleasant… Surrendering my life to the King of Kings to do with it as He wills… A call to DIE it is…

The Holy Spirit will lead you to a place of DEATH so HE can resurrect you into the real you! I am on the altar Lord- kill the idolatry inside of my heart Jesus!

Leave a Reply

